Will Joseph Cook Drops Irresistible New Track and Video “BOP”


Will Joseph Cook reveals his hugely catchy new single “BOP”, a summer party anthem that captures that intoxicating moment when the vibe feels right with someone, and you shoot your shot. “BOP” has fast become a fan favourite from recent live shows and follows his recent singles “Kisses”, “Little Miss” and “4AM”, lifted from his forthcoming album ‘Every Single Thing’ set for release on 10th June via Bad Hotel / The Vertex.

“I actually started this as a super short track I wrote for a fan on TikTok. I had people comment their name for a song and this one happened to be for someone called Ariel, which gave me the opening few lines. They were stuck in my head for weeks so I had to finish the song. BOP emerged as this flirty track full of bravado and nervous energy. There’s also a lot of lines expressing how baffling and awkward the idea of true love was when I was younger. It was interesting writing a song from the perspective of a teenage me talking to a girl at a house party,” Will shares.

“I thought it would be fun to play with the title of the track. Producer Simon Versace is in desperate need of a ‘BIG BOP’ to save his career and I’m the artist that finally delivers. It was inspired by 1980s disco videos, these almost awkward studio sessions where reserved producers or music industry folk watch over the musician’s performance,” Will explains of the video.

Will Joseph Cook makes music that will put a smile on your face. The indie-pop dreamer’s third album, ‘Every Single Thing’, is an exercise in joy: a collection of unashamed love songs, it’s a bubbling and exuberant reminder to cherish the present. The album’s ten meticulously crafted pop songs are a celebration of love that acknowledges the often-tumultuous journey that life can take us on. On ‘Every Single Thing’, Will Joseph Cook finds inspiration in the tradition of writing songs for and with someone special in mind in the style of old school crooners like Chet Baker or Elvis Presley.

Written with friend Eric Radloff, who releases music as Okudaxij, and LA-based writer-producer Matt Parad, he started work on the album in early 2021. “At first we were working remotely on a painfully slow countryside internet connection,” Will remembers. “We sent each other stems and ideas and the first few tunes came together like that. Then it was just a case of finding a way to meet somewhere.”

That place ended up being Mexico. “I got an Airbnb for two weeks and we did all the pre-production there. In our suitcases, we had a mini-studio that we set up in an apartment block. We whittled it down to 10 tracks and went on from there to LA. Basically, you had to be in Mexico for two weeks and then you were allowed to enter the US. It was pretty wild,” he continues. “But then I ended up being in the US for quite a while. I was away for two months and the album was finished and mixed. It felt old school. I went to a place, recorded and left with a new record. I think those limitations and those pressures were good.”

Alongside “BOP”, Will’s previous hypnotic singles “Little Miss” and “4AM” from his ‘Every Single Thing’ album was released to wide support across South East Asia, earning praise from the likes of Prambors (ID), Billboard Indonesia, Daily Guardian (PH) and more, as well as airplay on 13 major radio stations across Indonesia.

Will Joseph Cook’s third album follows his 2020 sophomore ‘Something To Feel Good About’, which featured viral smash “Be Around Me”–the song found huge success online where 1.2 million videos on TikTok and 450,000 reels on Instagram were made with the sound–and his 2017 debut ‘Sweet Dreamer’.

Will Joseph Cook is one of the UK’s brightest young talents. Now 24 years old, Cook has been developing his multi-dimensional approach to crafting infectious songs since he was just 14. Finding inspiration in everything from the youthful indie charms of Phoenix, Vampire Weekend and Darwin Deez to the diverse singer-songwriter tones of Benny Sings, Eels and Neil Young. To date, he has amassed over 120 million streams worldwide across all platforms and released his sophomore album in 2020 via his own label Bad Hotel, via The Vertex.

‘Every Single Thing’ Tracklisting:
1. Little Miss
2. Kisses
3. Gummy
4. BOP
5. Easy Undone
6. Today It’s Raining
7. Goofin’ Around
8. The Feels
9. 4AM
10. Guaranteed

Brandon Coleman Unveils Ethereal New Album ‘Interstellar Black Space’

Previous article

Enjoy savings on Beko appliances at Megatrade Exhibit until May 22

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *