Three LGUs bag child-friendly Presidential Awards

In recognition of the efforts of local government units (LGUs) to create a child-friendly environment, the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD)  through its attached agency, Council for the Welfare of Children, conferred the 2014 Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities.

Davao City won as the Most Child-Friendly Highly Urbanized City, Santiago City won as the Most Child-Friendly Independent Component City, and Tagaytay City won as the Most Child-Friendly Component City during the awarding ceremony recently at the Philippine International Convention Center.

The Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities was initiated by DSWD pursuant to Executive Order No.184 issued on December 13, 1999.

It was conceptualized with the goal of encouraging LGUs to initiate more programs to promote children’s rights to survival, development, protection, and participation as well as to ensure child-friendly governance.

Child-friendly governance demonstrates that LGU policies, programs, and interventions are implemented which resulted in lower infant and maternal deaths; awareness on teenage pregnancy; increased participation and lesser dropouts in schools; and, more protective services for victims of child abuse, exploitation, and discrimination, among others.

Each of the winners received a Presidential Trophy and P500,000, which were awarded by DSWD Secretary Corazon Juliano-Soliman, Justice Secretary Leila De Lima, Interior and Local Government Undersecretary Austere Panadero, and Health Undersecretary Vicente Belizario, Jr.

Sec. Soliman, on behalf of President Benigno S. Aquino III, congratulated and commended the awardees.

“Mahalaga na ang bawat isa sa atin, lalong lalo na ang nasa barangay at munisipyo, ay maigting na protektahan at itaguyod ang karapatan ng mga bata (It is imperative that each of us, especially those in the barangays and municipalities, is able to contribute in protecting and supporting the rights of the child),” Sec. Soliman said.

Aside from the three major winners, 18 LGU-finalists were also recognized, namely:

  • 1st to 3rd Class Municipal category – Roxas, Isabela; Surallah, South Cotabato; Bacnotan, La Union; Mauban, Quezon; and, Aleosan, North Cotabato
  • 4th to 6th Class Municipal category – Balete, Batangas; Mahatao, Batanes; Dumalneg Ilocos Norte; and Tanudan, Ifugao
  • Component City category – Ilagan City, Dipolog City, and Palayan City
  • Highly Urbanized City category – Pasig City, Bacolod City, Puerto Princesa City, and Cagayan De Oro City
  • Independent Component City Category – Dagupan City and Cotabato City

Like it? Share with your friends!


Introvert, wanderer, blogger, foodie, a hip-hop music writer, and one of the co-founders of a tech start-up company called GigsManila.