CineFilipino Film Festival announces 2019 finalists for Feature Length, Shorts, and Series Categories

The CineFilipino Film Festival, a celebration of Philippine cinema and of young and aspiring Filipino filmmakers, has officially released the full list of finalists for its Feature Length, Shorts, and Series categories in its 2019 competition.

For the Feature Length film category, eight finalists were selected from over 100 entries and have each merited a PHP 2,000,000.00 grant, allowing them the amazing opportunity to produce their films and bring their cinematic visions to life. These talented finalists are:

  1. Jopy Arnaldo, 27 EXP – A story about a boy who uses a disposable camera to move on from a love lost
  2. Charlson Ong and Angelo R. Lacuesta, Cargo – A Tausug fast-boat pilot finds himself involved in a murder, and must choose between escape and surrender
  3. Sue Aspiras, Homecoming – A young diwata gets a dazzling homecoming
  4. Christopher Gozum, Ilikdem Mo So Matam – A Filipina filmmaker in Seoul, South Korea gets entangled in a forbidden relationship between two other OFWs in the city
  5. Steven Paul Evangelio, Maya-maya Paparito Na – A family’s Christmas reunion is ruined by a devastating storm, leaving them with no way out
  6. JP Habac, Olsen’s Day – A production assistant goes on a trip with a strange old man and his son who threatens him but at the same time, gives him the answers he seeks
  7. Rob Jara, Ouroboros – A coming-of-age vengeance drama about a young man who waits 20 years to avenge his father’s death at the hands of his own mentor
  8. Dolly Dulu, The Boy Foretold by the Stars – A gay high school student, driven by a fortuneteller’s predictions, attempts to prove to a boy that they are destined to be together

For the Shorts category, the nine finalists who rose above dozens of submissions are: Dolly Dulu with 7-Year Itch; Dexter Paul de Jesus with Alex & Aki; Claudia Fernando with Ang Alamat ng Sari-Saring Sari Store; Zsarina P. Lacumba with Ang’gulo (Unclear); Eluigi Macalintal and James Garcia with Delta; Lorys Plaza and James Hermoso with Kita (nalng) Duha; Noel Tonga, Jr. with Memento Mori; Ronald Dulatre and Elaiza Rivera with Tayo (Stand Up); and Reeden Fajardo Quing Lalam Ning Aldo (Under the Sun).

And for the Series category, the 10 chosen finalists are: Jeremy Luke Bolatag with B124; Christian Mark Vidallo with Balete: The Animated Series; Rob Jara with Delikado; Kris Ulrich and Maze Mirada with Life After College; Ronald Van Angelo A. Dulatre with Manila Encounters; Dustin Celestino with Philippine Gothic: Habang Buhay; Ronald Batallones with Raket; Efren P. Malabanan with Sa Pusod ng Dagat; Carlo Obispo with The Junkyard Hippies; and Jelani Maniago with Tindero. These finalists will be pitching their stories to a selection panel comprising established industry personalities, namely: SM Lifestyle Entertainment SAVP of Ad and Corporate Sales Isabelle Santillan; filmmaker and producer Perci Intalan; Viva Communications Producer and AVP for TV Production Tess Fuentes; and screenwriter and filmmaker Wanggo Gallaga. The selection panel will choose five of the ten finalists to greenlight for production.

“We’re looking forward to all the works of art our finalists are bringing to this year’s CineFilipino Film Festival,” said Competition Head Jose Javier Reyes. “We believe we’ve chosen the best of both professional and aspiring Filipino filmmakers—in the end, it’s not just about good stories, but also about storytellers.”

“We may find the next great Filipino filmmaker, as well as the next great Filipino film, in the festival”, added Festival Director Madonna Tarrayo. “CineFilipino supports the celebration of 100 years of Philippine cinema, and we’re always on the lookout for exceptional talent that can help drive the art and the industry in the present and future.”

Like it? Share with your friends!


Introvert, wanderer, blogger, foodie, a hip-hop music writer, and one of the co-founders of a tech start-up company called GigsManila.