39th Gawad Urian Nominees Revealed: “Honor Thy Father” and “da Dog Show” Lead This Year’s Nominees

The members of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP) together with Cinema One have announced the nominees for the 39th Gawad Urian to be held on June 21 at the Kia Theater.

Present during the announcement on May 17 at ABS-CBN were Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino President Grace Alfonso and its members Mario Hernando, Nic Tiongson, and Tito Valiente.

The group also confirmed that cinematographer FAMAS Hall of Famer Romy Vitug is this year’s Natatanging Gawad Urian or Lifetime Achievement awardee.

Leading the nominees with 10 nominations including Best Picture and Best Direction are Erik Matti’s “Honor Thy Father” starring John Lloyd Cruz and Ralston Jover’s “Da Dog Show” starring Mercedes Cabral.

John Lloyd Cruz also got double nominations for Best Actor this year for his films “Honor Thy Father” and “A Second Chance.”

Jennylyn Mercado also got her first Best Actress nomination in Gawad Urian for the film “Walang Forever.”

“Honor Thy Father” and the “Da Dog Show” are followed closely by Jerrold Tarog’s “Heneral Luna,” Brillante Mendoza’s “Taklub,” Jun Lana’s “Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan,” and Carlo Encisco Catu’s “ARI: My Life With A King.” The four films are also in the race for Best Picture.

The Gawad Urian is the most esteemed film awards in the Philiippines. The nominees and winners are chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP), a group that is composed of reputable pillars in Philippine cinema.

The MPP members are Rolando Tolentino, Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Mario Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente, and Lito Zulueta.

The 39th Gawad Urian will be held on June 21, 2016 at the Kia Theater and will be aired live on Cinema One.


  • Heneral Luna – Artikulo Uno Productions
  • Taklub – Centerstage Productions
  • Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Octobertrain Films, IdeaFirst Company
  • Honor Thy Father – Reality Entertainment
  • Imbisibol – Sinag Maynila, Solar Entertainment
  • ARI: My Life with a King – Holy Angel University Center for Kapampangan Studies
  • Bambanti – Solar Entertainment, Centerstage Productions, Sinag Maynila
  • Da Dog Show – sans cinema, Germany & Queen B Production


  • Da Dog Show – Ralston Jover
  • Heneral Luna – Jerrold Tarog
  • Taklub – Brilliante Mendoza
  • Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Jun Lana
  • Honor thy Father – Erik Matti
  • Imbisibol – Lawrence Fajardo
  • ARI: My Life with a King – Carlo Enciso Catu
  • Bambanti – Zig Madamba Dulay
  • Apocalypse Child – Mario Cornejo
  • Balikbayan #1: Memories of Overdevelopment Redux III – Kidlat Tahimik


  • John Arcilla, Heneral Luna
  • John Lloyd Cruz, Honor Thy Father
  • John Lloyd Cruz, A Second Chance
  • Ricky Davao, Dayang Asu
  • Jerikho Rosales, Walang Forever
  • Dennis Trillio, Felix Manalo
  • Sid Lucero, Apocalypse Child
  • Jun Jun Quintana, Water Lemon
  • Luis Alandy, Anino sa Likod ng Buwan
  • Anthony Falcon, Anino sa Likod ng Buwan
  • Francisco Guinto, ARI: My Life with a King
  • Lou Veloso, Da Dog Show


  • Nora Aunor, Taklub
  • Anika Dolonius, Apocalypse Child
  • LJ Reyes, Anino sa Likod ng Buwan
  • Angeli Bayani, Iisa
  • Alessandra de Rossi, Bambanti
  • Ces Quesada, Imbisibol
  • Jennilyn Mercado, Walang Forever
  • Mercedes Cabral, Da Dog Show

Supporting Actor

  • Julio Diaz, Taklub
  • Lou Veloso, Taklub
  • Tirso Cruz III, Honor Thy Father
  • JM de Guzman, Imbisibol
  • Bernardo Bernardo, Imbisibol
  • Micko Laurente, Bambanti
  • RK Bagatsing, Apocalypse Child
  • Alion Ibanez, Da Dog Show

Supporting Actress

  • Rio Locsin, Iisa
  • Anna Abad Santos, Apocalypse Child
  • Gwen Zamora, Apocalypse Child
  • Mylene Dizon, Heneral Luna
  • Tessie Tomas, Water Lemon
  • Liza Dinio, Toto
  • Cecil Yumol, ARI: My Life with a King


  • Da Dog Show – Ralston Jover (sans cinema, Germany & Queen B Production)
  • Heneral Luna – Henry Francia, E.A. Rocha, Jerrold Tarog
  • Taklub – Honeylyn Joy Alipio
  • Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Jun Lana
  • Honor Thy Father – Michiko Yamamoto
  • Imbisibol – Herlyn Gail Alegre, John Paul Bedia
  • ARI: My Life with a King – Robby Tantingco
  • Water Lemon – Lilit Reyes
  • Dayang Asu – Bor Ocampo
  • Bambanti – Zig Madamba Dulay


  • Da Dog Show – Carlo Mendoza
  • Heneral Luna – Pong Ignacio
  • Taklub – Odyssey Flores
  • Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Carlo Mendoza
  • Honor Thy father – Ber Cruz
  • Apocalypse Child – Ike Avellana
  • Bambanti – Ma. Solita Garcia
  • Felix Manalo – Rody Lacap

Production Design

  • Da Dog Show – Deans Habal
  • Bambanti – Aped Santos
  • Water Lemon – Ben Payumo
  • Honor Thy Father – Erikson Navarro
  • Felix Manalo – Joel Bilbao, Edgar Martin Littaua, Danny Red
  • Bukod Kang Pinagpala – Harley Alcasid
  • Imbisibol – Lawrence Fajardo, Roland Inocencio


  • Heneral Luna – Jerrold Tarog
  • Taklub – Kats Serraon
  • Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Lawrence Ang
  • Honor Thy Father – Jay Halili
  • Imbisibol – Lawrence Fajardo
  • ARI: My Life with a King – Carlo Francisco Manatad
  • Da Dog Show – Kats Serraon


  • Water Lemon – Alessandra de Rossi
  • Heneral Luna – Jerrold Tarog
  • Taklub – Diwa de Leon
  • Honor Thy father – Erwin Romulo
  • ARI: My Life with a King – Jake Abella


  • Heneral Luna – Mikko Quizon
  • Taklub – Paulito Homillano, Andrew Milallos, Dennis Payumo, Addiss Tabong
  • Anino sa Likod ng Buwan – Albert Michael Idioma
  • Honor Thy father – Mikko Quizon
  • Dayang Asu – Stephen Lopez, Sheka Ong
  • Felix Manalo – Albert Michael Idioma
  • ARI: My Life with a King – Gilbert Obispo
  • Da Dog Show – Albert Mike Idioma

Natatanging Gawad Urian Award

  • Mr. Romy Vitug

Like it? Share with your friends!


Introvert, wanderer, blogger, foodie, a hip-hop music writer, and one of the co-founders of a tech start-up company called GigsManila.